What is the IGCSE®Test?

The International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) is an English language based examination similar to GCSE and is recognized in the UK as being equivalent to the GCSE for the purposes of recognizing prior attainment. It was developed by University of Cambridge International Examinations.


The examination board Edexcel and OxfordAQA also offer its own versions of International GCSEs. Most Students begin learning the syllabus at the beginning of Year 10 (Grade 9) and take the test at the end of Year 11 (Grade 10). Unlike pre-2017 GCSE, coursework of any kind is not a compulsory component.


The qualifications are based on individual subjects of study, which means that one receives an “IGCSE” qualification for each subject one takes. Typical “core” subjects for IGCSE candidates include a First Language, Second Language, Mathematics and one or more subjects in the Sciences.


Types of International General Certificate of Secondary Education

1.  Cambridge IGCSE

The Cambridge examination board offers an ICE (International Certificate of Education) group qualification for candidates who achieve 7 subject passes A*-C across the following groups:


Group I: Languages

Group II: Humanities and Social Sciences

Group III: Sciences

Group IV: Mathematics

Group V: Creative, Technical and Vocational


The ICE is awarded in three grades: Distinction, Merit and Pass. It requires 2 passes in Languages, and one pass in every other group whilst the seventh subject be in any group to be qualified for an award.

Cambridge IGCSE is accepted as equivalent to Cambridge O Level and the UK GCSE in admitting candidates to institutes of further and higher education.

Cambridge IGCSE is widely recognised by higher education institutions and employers around the world as evidence of academic achievement. Many universities require a combination of Cambridge International AS and A Levels and Cambridge IGCSEs to meet their entry requirements.


  1. Edexcel International GCSE

Edexcel International GCSE exams are conducted in the months of June and January. The exams are set by Edexcel which also sets GCSE exams in the UK.


  1. OxfordAQA International GCSE

OxfordAQA International GCSE exams are conducted in the May/June and November. The exams are set by Oxford International AQA Examinations which is a joint venture between AQA which sets GCSE exams in the UK and Oxford University Press (OUP).


There are two opportunities to sit IGCSE and GCSE O-/A-/AS-level examinations every year.

Examinations with Cambridge International takes place in May/June and October/November.


Date of Registration

Cambridge Assessment International Examinations – October/November examinations.

  • Normal Registration: 24 June 2019 – 02 August 2019
  • Late Registration: 03 August – 13 September 2019


Start End
Normal stage registration period 24 June 2019 02 August 2019
Late stage registration period 03 August 2019 13 September 2019
Retake entry period (Normal Stage)  13 August 2019  13 September 2019
Start End
Normal registration period 24 June 2019 02 August 2019
Late registration period 03 August 2019 9 September 2019


Important Notice

Each IGCSE candidate in Nigeria is required to present a valid international passport as an identifying document

at the test center on the test day before he/she will be allowed into the test room.